School Logo

Who’s Who

The Abel Smith Team

The Abel Smith name is associated with a long history of personal endeavour and community involvement. Indeed, our school logo represents youthfulness, forward-thinking, and high expectations which encompasses the Abel Smith team perfectly.

At the heart of our school is a vision for our children based upon the curriculum they will experience, the attitudes and qualities they will develop, and the sensation they will feel being part of a fully inclusive school - but in order to have this vision, it has to be dreamed first by those who make the magic of education happen.

Our vision is energised through the adults within the Abel Smith team. Great teaching and learning is not just left to chance, it is deliberately practiced and worked, it is planned and developed, it is grounded in love and a passion to put the child at the heart of everything we do with courage, care, and commitment. Every member of the Abel Smith team holds the school values close to their hearts and as a result, continues the long history of the Abel Smith name.

Staff list - Autumn 2023

Senior Leadership Team


Mr. Daniel Hewitt

Deputy Headteacher

Mrs. Nicola Law

Deputy DSL, Designated Teacher, EYFS Leader
Senior TeacherMrs. Anna CockleyDeputy DSL, Designated Teacher, KS2 Leader, Mathematics Subject Leader
Senior Teacher

Mrs. Ellen Williams

English Subject Leader, Forest School Leader


Mrs. Amanda Berry

Deputy DSL


Year 6Mrs. Anna Cockley    
Mrs. Kate Sneddon (Wed, Thurs)MFL Subject Leader

Year 5

Mrs. Lauren Barrs

History & Geography Subject Leader

Year 4

Miss. Ella Pegg

Year 3

Mrs. Josie Brace

Science Subject Leader

Year 2

Miss. Amy Debnam

Reading Subject Leader, Computing Subject Leader

Year 1

Mrs Wilson


Miss. Helen Richards

Music Subject Leader


Mrs. Nicola Law

PE Teacher

Mrs. Stephanie Tilbury

PE Subject Leader, PSHE Subject Leader, EV Co-ordinator

EYFS Teacher

Mrs. Holly Evans

Learning Support

Teaching Assistants

Mrs. Karen Coghlan

Mrs. Wendy Devon

Mrs. Luella Gracias

Mrs. Gemma Hughes
Miss. Catherine McCarthy
Mr. William Ormsby

Miss. Emily Pratt

Mrs. Michelle Pratt
Mrs. Karen Wyles

1:1 Learning Support Assistants

Mr. Gary Hodges

Support Staff

Site ManagerMr. Terry Small
Office Manager (Deputy DSL)Mrs. Siân Treasure

Finance Administrator

Mrs. Angela Hamilton

Midday Supervisor

Mrs. Oraphim O’Brien

School Cook

Mrs. Jane Small