The governors are fully committed to supporting the head teacher and leadership team to continue to provide the very best education and school experience for our children.  The relationship between the governors and the leadership team is positive and based upon trust, openness and transparency. Parent governors are selected by the parent body by means of a election process administrated by the office staff and overseen by the head and chair of governors. Other categories of governor are appointed by the governing body. The term of office is four years.

The governors provide a robust challenge to the head ensuring that targets are appropriate, that there is a drive for continuous improvement and that the budget is wisely allocated.  Governors are well informed and know the school very well.  Governors are often in school listening to children read and meeting with subject leaders and also take the opportunity to talk to parents at consultation evenings or forum sessions.  

The Governing Body consists of representatives from the various groups associated with the school. Representatives come from the LEA, the local community, the parentand teacher bodies. Our Governing Body meets at least termly. In addition, the committees and working parties meet to discuss matters such as premises, curriculum, personnel and finance.


Please click on the link below for a full description of the role of chair and vice - chair.


The role of the Chair and Vice-Chair.doc



Chair of Governors /Co - Opted Governor

Mrs M Waller

Vice Chair

Co-opted Governor/ Chair of School Improvement Committee

Mrs K Kay

Co-opted Governor / Chair of Resources Committee

Mr A Barkey

Parent Governor

Mr N McMahon

Parent Governor

Mr S Tilbury

 Parent Governor

Mr S Faber

Co-Opted Governor

Miss D Abel Smith

 Co - Opted Governor

Rev J Loveridge

Co-Opted Governor

 Mr John Palfreyman

Staff Governor & Deputy Head

Mrs Law


Mrs G Langan



School Improvement Committee

Resources Committee

Katy Kay (Chair)

Adrian Barkey (Chair)

Gill Langan

Gill Langan

Maddie Waller

Maddie Waller

Dorothy Abel Smith

John Palfreyman

Simon Tilbury

Steve Faber

Jo Loveridge


Nicki Law


Nick McMahon




  Link Governors




Subject Leader


Steve Faber

Miss C Rix


Jo Loveridge/Dorothy Abel Smith

Mrs C Hodge


Nick McMahon

Mrs C Hodge /

Mrs A Cockley


Katy Kay

Mrs A Cockley


Maddie Waller

Miss H Richards


Maddie Waller

Mrs A Cockley


Simon Tilbury

Mrs N Law

Safeguarding/ PP/ CLA

Katy Kay

Mrs G Langan/

Mrs N Law

Health & Safety

Adrian Barkey

Mrs G Langan


 Please click below for further information regarding the roles of the Abel Smith governing body 2015 - 2016:


Governor Information 2015 - 2016


If you wish to speak to a Governor, they can be contacted via the school office on 01992 583244 or email: governors@abelsmith.herts.sch.uk.  

Spring Newsletter 2017

Autumn Newsletter 2016

Autumn Newsletter 2015

Summer Newsletter 2015

Autumn Newsletter 2014

Spring Newsletter 2014

Autumn Newsletter 2013