The New National Curriculum



 What is the National Curriculum anyway?

The National Curriculum defines the programmes of study for key subjects in maintained/ state primary and secondary schools in England (Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have their own equivalents). Fundamentally, it sets out what your child is supposed to learn and when. 
The National Curriculum is divided into sections called Key Stages. Children aged 6 and 7 years follow Key Stage 1. Children aged 8 -11 years follow Key Stage 2.


The new national curriculum has been introduced as of September 2015.

Why the changes?

The current government view was that the old curriculum wasn't sufficiently challenging.

The new curriculum has been developed partly by comparing England's curriculum to those in other countries. As the Department of Education puts it, it's all about trying to compete in the global economy and the forthcoming curriculum "combines the best elements of what is taught in the world's most successful school systems, including Hong Kong, Massachusetts, Singapore and Finland, with some of the most impressive [existing] practice from schools in England."

Which subjects are being taught at Abel Smith?


English - Led by Mrs C. Hodge

Maths - Led by Miss C. Rix

Science - Led by Mrs L Fekete

Computing - Led by Mrs A. Cockley

History - Led by Mrs E Williams

Geography - Led by Mrs E Williams

P.E - Led by Mrs A. Cockley

Music - Led by Miss H. Richards

MFL (French) - Led by Mrs K. Sneddon

Art and Design and Technology - Led by Mrs E Williams

R.E - Mrs A Greathead

SMSC (Social, Moral, Spiritual and Cultural) - Led by N Todd


Currently, we use Letters and Sounds to teach phonics. We have bought into the Abacus scheme of work to support us in the delivery of the new Maths curriculum. Please click below to see our current curriculum overview map for KS1 and KS2. There is also a copy of our current topics (encompassing History, Geography, Art and DT) for each year group.



Yearly overviews2.pub





         What’s new?





    • Stronger emphasis on vocabulary development, grammar, punctuation and spelling (for example, the use of commas and apostrophes will be taught in KS1)
    • Handwriting – not currently assessed under the national curriculum – is expected to be fluent, legible and speedy
    • Spoken English has a greater emphasis, with children to be taught debating and presenting skillls




    • Five-year-olds will be expected to learn to count up to 100 (compared to 20 under the current curriculum) and learn number bonds to 20 (currently up to 10)
    • Simple fractions (1/4 and 1/2) will be taught from KS1, and by the end of primary school, children should be able to convert decimal fractions to simple fractions (e.g. 0.375 = 3/8)
    • By the age of nine, children will be expected to know times tables up to 12x12 (currently 10x10 by the end of primary school)Calculators will not be introduced until near the end of KS2, to encourage mental arithmetic




    • Strong focus on scientific knowledge and language, rather than understanding the nature and methods of science in abstract terms
    • Evolution will be taught in primary schools for the first time
    • Non-core subjects like caring for animals will be replaced by topics like the human circulatory system

Art and Design & technology




    • Afforded greater importance under the new curriculum, setting children on the path to becoming the designers and engineers of the future
    • More sophisticated use of design equipment such as electronics and robotics
    • In KS2, children will learn about how key events and individuals in design and technology have shaped the world



    • Computing replaces Information and Communication Technology (ICT), with a greater focus on programming rather than on operating programs
    • From age five, children will learn to write and test simple programs, and to organise and store data.
    • From seven, they will be taught to understand computer networks, including the internet
    • Internet safety – currently only taught from 11-16 – will be taught in primary schools




    • Currently not statutory, a modern foreign will be mandatory in KS2
    • Children will be expected to master basic grammar and accurate pronunciation and to converse, present, read and write in the language